h1

Sunday and the Noon-4 Shift

October 7, 2007

Ahh Sundays. A time to relax, a time to recuperate, a time to gather yourself and your thoughts before you return to the work-week with that Monday Morning Smile (or perhaps, in some cases, the Monday Morning Blues). I, like so many other dedicated professionals in the retail and service industries, grudgingly have to work on Sundays.

I don’t have a terrible job, mind you. I sell questionably-made and over-priced antiques from the far reaches of the globe, spanning from Argentina to China and back again. The business here is not what one would call “booming”, as the neighborhood we are currently situated in is inhabited mostly by lower-middle class citizens, dumpster-diving veterans, and houses painted in interesting and non-stylish shades of brown. Needless to say, my shifts are spent sitting on my ass, waiting. It’s not a terrible job, you see, but not the most fulfilling. And so I spend my Sunday shifts from noon-4, tending to my Second Life commitments and making plans.

“Plans?” you ask.

Yes. Plans. But description of said plans will have to wait for another day, because there’s a blog I’d like to tell you about. But first:

All Hail the RSS Feed.

Seriously. If you don’t have one, you can learn about it here, and you can get a web-based RSS for free here. If you don’t have one, you need to get one– it makes staying informed so much easier.

But I digress:

Upon opening up my RSS feed today, I stumbled upon the blog of Fiend Ludwig. Specifically, I came across his latest blog, “And Anonymity Masks Much But Reveals All”, which proves to be an entertaining and insightful look about Second Life identity. A deeper look into this blog reveals an intelligent literary mind with a library of interesting contributions to various Second Life publications, and a penchant for using Waterhouse paintings to illustrate his points throughout.

“Anonymity shields Typist from prying eyes and leaves him free to traverse his Real without concern of recognition or retribution. It deflects criticism and accountability. Fiend can say anything, however vile, and Typist can expect protection.”

If you don’t at least passively browse through this blog, I’m convinced you’ll be depriving yourself of Something Special.

One comment

  1. Hey Cyanide – Thanks for the taking the time to look at my blog. I shall reciprocate. Fiend.



Leave a Reply

